Review: Just Between Us by J.H. Trumble

image
image
Title: Just Between Us
Author: J.H. Trumble
Publisher: Kensington Books
Publication Date: Semptember 24th 2013
Series or Standalone: Standalone, but this book is related to Trumble’s first novel Don’t Let Me Go.
Format: Paperback, 308 pages

image

Seventeen-year-old Luke Chesser is trying to forget his spectacular failure of a love life. He practices marching band moves for hours in the hot Texas sun, deals with his disapproving father, and slyly checks out the new band field tech, Curtis Cameron. Before long, Luke is falling harder than he knew he could. And this time, he intends to play it right.

Since testing positive for HIV, Curtis has careened between numbness and fear. Too ashamed to tell anyone, Curtis can’t possibly act on his feelings. And Luke impulsive, funny, and more tempting than he realizes won’t take a hint. Even when Curtis distances himself it backfires, leaving him with no idea how to protect Luke from the truth.

Confronting a sensitive topic with candor and aplomb, acclaimed author J. H. Trumble renders a modern love story as sweet, sharp, and messy as the real thing, where easy answers are elusive, and sometimes the only impossible thing is to walk away.

image

Why are you doing this Curtis?

But I know why. I can’t help myself. I can’t let him go. I’m as bound to him as the moon to the earth. He keeps me in orbit; and maybe I do the same for him.

Since when the last time I really cried over a book? Few days ago? Weeks ago? But honestly this story did a great job to get all the freaking emotions out of me. I smiled so wide like a psycho killer clown waiting for the next victim. And I cried silently crawling on my bed that hurt my throat.

A very compelling and heartbreaking novel that spoke to my heart. That opened my eyes wide to the things that needed to be seen and voicers needed to be heard.

J. H Trumble perfectly filled the book with great characters. I felt so close to everyone of them. That I could feel their love, joy, remorse, sadness, anger, fear. Curtis and Luke taught me everything not to stop fighting a battle even there is no assurance of winning. And the worst part is fighting without no one to hold on to. No one to share the burdens that weighing you down. Just fight. You have to.

This is not just about those people who have HIV/AIDS or any sexually transmitted diseases, it’s also about us. An us who can be their hope and strength. Not to be those people who do nothing but judge.

I never thought I’m going to be this emotional. This is an awesome book. Go read it!

image

image

Leave a Reply

